Fansubbing


I just really felt like writing something about my thought process as a subber.

At first, calling myself a fansubber did not roll off my tongue so easily. (I think I was only starting my 2nd drama when I started this blog…and called myself a fansubber. Lol.) Even after having finished my 2nd drama, it still feels a little awkward, especially when compared to other fansubbers.

I went into subbing with very little knowledge of the whole process. I thought, how hard could it be? Boy, was I naive and wrong. I would say that this has been one of the biggest challenges in my life and has turned out to be just as gratifying. It involves translating, timing, editing, encoding…I won’t bore you with all of those aspects of subbing.

What I would like to touch upon is the translating part. The actual translations may not be so hard to do, but sometimes making them sound right in English is nearly impossible. There are always a few lines or phrases in every episode that hinders a smooth subbing process. This is an especially irritating roadblock since I am a one-man-team. There’s no one to consult. No one to appease my doubts. I just have to put my work out there and hope that no one notices or at least, that no on would be too critical.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fansubbing

  1. fan says:

    just wanted to let you know i speaking for myself and we for other non-thais really appreciate your hard work, you are the door for us to thai entertainment

  2. oscil says:

    because of your hard work,you make people like me non thai understand the meaning behind those thai songs.i cross my heart saying this to you,thanks you so much AD.for always helping me to sub those thia song i always asked you to do so.thanks a million for doing so much for a strange.love from singapore

  3. AnothaiDara says:

    fan, you’re so welcome. Thanks for the comment.

    oscil, you’re very welcome too. It’s always nice to hear from you, especially on here. Lol.

  4. Lotus says:

    I wanted to let you know that I got interested in Thai lakorn because of awesome people like you and the other Thai fansubbers. Besides reading from textbooks and the news, I learned so much more about Thai culture and the people because of all the fansubbers like you. Thanx a million for putting your time into subbing for us non-Thai speaker. We’re forever grateful to all of you!!

  5. evolecallaw says:

    Yes, like all others I wanted to say thank you . I don’t sub but I do know how time consuming it is especially if you’re doing it all yourself. And on top of that you are doing it out of kindness, not gaining any profits whatsoever. I just hated when people come in and demeand this and that or being rude to the fansubber. Keep up the work. And happy thanksgiving.

  6. porpeaches says:

    Don’t worry, if there are any mistakes, we can understand. Seeing as how quick you are uploading subbed videos compared to some other subbers who have given up after not even one full subbed episode, you are amazing. No offense to anyone, I understand how time-consuming this hobby is. Thanks for all your hard work!

Leave a Reply

