We Are Not Robots.


The recent amount of complaints I’ve received have been a little overwhelming to bear – on the my heart and mind.

First of all, fansubbing is a hobby. I don’t mean to patronize, but here is the dictionary’s definition: an activity or interest pursued for pleasure or relaxation and not as a main occupation.

If you must know, I have two jobs, family and friends I’d like to spend time with, and simply, a life I’d like to enjoy. I’m a private person and don’t like to share personal information with the internet world. Throughout the period that I’ve been subbing, there have been many issues that has taken precedence over subbing. Yes, I’ve had to deal with unhappy moments which include illness, injuries and even death. Then there are happier times: birthdays, weddings, baby showers, traveling and even just being able to laze around.

I only feel a need to reiterate this in order to address the complaints I’ve received about the pace of my work – both individual and joint. All I can really do is take a deep sigh and try not to let such comments overshadow all the nice ones. Sadly enough, it’s the not so nice ones that stand out.

Chobling and I (and any other fansubber for that matter) are not robots. We can only do so much. However, speaking for myself, I can only say that if you think rushing me motivates me to sub any faster, you’re wrong. It has quite the opposite effect. So next time you might think twice about asking a subber why his/her work is taking so long.

With all that being said, I have a greater appreciation for those who understand and have supported me. From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!

This entry was posted in Care to Share, Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Are Not Robots.

  1. sofabed says:

    Aww…I had no idea…some people can be bullies sometimes…I’ve ran into a few of my own…and I totally get you…I appreciate and so glad you finished RTTW and SRN in your own pace, and you know, I’m always a fan of your work…As a watcher and uploader, I know it’s time consuming, even with people bugging Wishbone about subbing…I can’t imagine the time it takes to do that, when I barely had time for uploading the series that I did have.

    Well, I’m here to support and thank you for your hard work…I still have yet to finish Prissana, have no idea where I left off…Well, you’d know, cuz I always have an opinion. I love that you’re subbing music videos, some I’ve never heard of, some I have…I’m crossing my fingers and hoping you’d sub one of the videos I like…I have too many, so I’m just waiting and seeing if I know the ones you have subbed.

  2. lilithao says:

    WOW!! I’m glad you let out what you held inside. but anywaise i’m your supporter forever and i will never rush you to get a project done, but i’ll encourage you to continue. because without you, we’re as good as nothing too. So this is my appreciation to you!!

    you forever supporter,
    Lilithao!!

    Hey lilithao. I know you’ve been a long time supporter of mine and I truly appreciate it. Thank you! – AD

  3. Nancy says:

    Hello. Thank you so much for taking your time to sub the lakorns for us. For the negative comments, just disregard them, some people are just so dumb and really have no regards to other’s time. Please take your time and don’t rush at all. Like you said, you also have a life as well and if they can’t understand, too bad!

    Hi Nancy. Thanks for understanding. I wish I could just brush off some of the negative comments, but that’s not always so easy to do. I try my best to ignore them and let the nice comments overshadow them. Thanks for your support! – AD

  4. elle says:

    this is the first time I’m here. Just clicked on the link through lyn’s blog. I’m really new to lakorn. Just watched 4-5 series and realize only a few subber work on these dramas. It’s certainly not like the Japanese and Korean dramas that’s getting subbed constantly.

    It’s sad to know something was said to prompt this post. I’m sorry that you have to endure that. Fansubbing is a hobby and not a competitive sport. I’m sure a lot of people expects more because as many people take subbed video without thinking about the amount of work that goes into a project.

    I’m not exactly sure what I’m trying to say here. lol. But please don’t take any ill-manner comments to heart. You’re doing a great service to lakorn watchers that doesn’t speak Thai. If it wasn’t for the fansubs I would never realize what I’ve been missing out on! So thank you guys so much for doing so! Have a wonderful holiday season!

    Hey elle. I’m sorry that you didn’t receive such a warm welcome on your first visit here. Lol. Yes, there were many reasons that sparked my rant. Thank you so much for understanding. Your support is much appreciated. ^_^ – AD

Leave a Reply

