Album Review: Ice Saranyu – Festa


Artist: Ice Saranyu
Album: Festa
CD Release Date: October 28, 2010
VCD Release Date: November 10, 2010

Track List:
01 – Hom (Feat. Best, Book, Mook, Proud) : Fragrant/Kiss
02 – Pae Laaw Paan : Defeated & Lashing Out
03 – Nahtee Kaung Kon Raw : Obligation of the Person Waiting
04 – Ruk Jing Jeb Jing : Real Love, Real Pain
05 – Mai Long Mai Roo (Feat. Noona) : Won’t Know If You Don’t Give It a Try
06 – Tah Hua Jai Pood Dai : If My Heart Could Speak
07 – Mai Sia Nam Ta : Won’t Shed a Tear
08 – Kau Bpen Kon Kaung Tur : I Wish to Be Yours

I’m not an avid fan or follower of Ice’s music, but I do listen to it from time to time. To be honest, I dove into Festa with some hesitation. I was afraid that from the album title the songs would be too pop, both musically and lyrically. I’m happy to say that I was wrong…oh so wrong. That’s probably why I felt the need to write a review and share my thoughts on it. Despite an album title like Festa, about half the songs are pretty heart-wrenching. (And I mean that in a good way.) You can totally feel the emotion in Ice’s voice.

Hom is a cute song and a play on words. Hom can mean fragrant or kiss. (You know, the infamous “sniff” kiss seen in lakorns.) The girls insist that they’re not flowers, yet, Ice wishes he were a bug so he could fly around them because of how fragrant they are. He says, “Your fragrance is so refreshing, I just want to give you a (sniff) kiss”. What can I say? Cute.

Nahtee Kaung Tur is a feel-good song about fulfilling one’s obligation to wait while the other person heals from a broken heart. Hey, it doesn’t hurt that Ice is adorable in the video. Mai Long Mai Roo makes me want to dance. In the song, Noona’s heard that Ice is a player and has reservations about getting involved with him, but Ice says that she wouldn’t know unless she gives it a try.

Tracks 2, 4, 6, & 7 are on the somber side about failed relationships. My favorite among them is Tah Hua Jai Pood Dai. It nearly brought me to tears the first time I heard it and it still tugs at my heart after a number of listens later. I need him to release this song accompanied by a storybook video ASAP! I’ve subbed some of the videos and you can check them out here and here.

We close out the album with Kau Bpen Kon Kaung Tur, a remake of one of Beau Sunita’s hit in 1996. His rendition is a lot more upbeat than Beau’s, but I don’t mind it at all since it’s a rather sweet and happy song. I remember wanting it to be my wedding song as a teenager. OMG, that makes me sound so old, but I can’t deny what I grew up listening to. >_< Anyway, you can check out both versions below.

Ice:
Beau:

I highly recommend this album. My only complaint after listening to it was that it was too short! I hope he doesn’t take another two-year break as I am already looking forward to more of his new stuff. 🙂

This entry was posted in Album Review, Ice Saranyu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Album Review: Ice Saranyu – Festa

  1. Dal says:

    Thanks, AD! I take your reviews seriously, so I am glad you took the time to share your thoughts on this album of Ice. I do like a lot of his songs. Thanks!

  2. wasan says:

    I really like Ice Saranyu. I hope you will have a big concert very soon. I will be waiting for the concert DVD. I have been your fan since your first song. Congratulation on everything you have got so far.

  3. NG says:

    Im a Malaysian, I just bought this Ice’s album when I travel to Pattaya last few days, this album is quite nice and I specially like the No.4 song …

    Rak Jing Jeb Jing

    Even I not really understand the meaning of this song, but I believe this is a very nice song …

Leave a Reply

