RIP AnothaiDara’s YT


New & Jiew – Tua Jing Rai Tua Ton

First and foremost, thank you so much for all your support. It truly means a lot to me. It’s the reason I’ve been doing this for as long as I have and much longer than I’d expected to.Β  I’m sure most of you know that my YT account is a thing of the past now. It served me (us?) well for almost 4 years (June 2007 – March 2011) so it’s sad to see it go. I knew it was coming since I received my 2nd strike for a random song that I’d uploaded years ago. Then the 3rd and final strike came shortly after. Although this was a matter of when and not if, the blow hurts just as bad as if I were blind-sided with a bat. You can thank [insert name of one of Thailand’s biggest music label] because all three strikes came from the same company. I won’t mention any names since I think it’s pretty obvious.

Anyway, that’s enough whining from me. What’s done is done. Now I’m just debating on how to continue doing this whole subbing thing. I know subbed videos are way more appealing than say, translations on paper. I may just provide download links to subbed videos, but I’m not sure if I’ll upload them to any streaming site. With that being said, I’ve created a new YT account under the username AnothaiDaraFansubs. So far it’s just there and I haven’t really considered uploading anything to it yet. Please feel free to voice your opinion on the future of AnothaiDara. For those who have already inquired about uploading my stuff to your own account, by all means go for it. I definitely don’t mind, but I can’t vouch for the copyright holders. I’ll also work on posting lyrics to this site, but it’ll be a slow process.

To end things on a positive note; I’ve got lots of goodies to give away to show my appreciation. I had planned on doing some giveaways/drawings towards the end of last year, but that didn’t work out too well. I still have the items and hope you all still want them. πŸ™‚ Hope you’ve all been well.

This entry was posted in News, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to RIP AnothaiDara’s YT

  1. Izzy says:

    Huhhh. I am glad you are still ‘alive’. ^___^
    I’ve been worried about you, seriously.
    I come to visit your blog and Twitter, everyday! Haha.
    I was so upset when I noticed your YT account were not there anymore.
    Seriously this is s*****. They should appreciate your hardwork that help us, the non-Thai people to learn Thai.
    Knowing that you are alright, I feel so relieved. ;))
    Keep fighting ya!

    -already subscribed to your new account ^^

    • AnothaiDara says:

      Izzy, thanks for the concern. I’m sorry for going off the radar, so to speak. Just had to recoup for a moment. Thanks for the love. πŸ™‚

      –AD

  2. savan7 says:

    I’m going to miss your channel!!! I check everyday for new MV, but I would love to be in drawing to win anything of yours…

  3. Malia says:

    Aww….I really miss ur mvs!!!!
    Hope you still continue!
    πŸ™‚

  4. yeah,miss your video..
    it’s pretty good for foreigner like me,to learn thai through music and it’s lyrics… 😐
    maybe you should back up ur videos to megaupload.. πŸ˜›
    keep fighting,pi… πŸ˜€

  5. plywood says:

    I am soo sorry that you got the axe but I am glad that you are still around.

  6. SiYunn says:

    many thanks for the subs, great intro to the wonderful land of thai music.

  7. aL says:

    any way take care of ur self thx 4 ur hard work this 4 years

  8. Karl says:

    Kid tueng sot hua jai 😦
    Me and my girlfriend used to sing to your subbed MV’s daily, we would occasionally have friends come to our house and have a karaoke / BBQ session, it was a pleasure to see them all singing to your videos and a huge benefit for me seeing your Thai translations, i would say 60% of the Thai i know today has come directly from your music videos. Having both the Thai phonetics and English translations have enabled me to develop and practise my Thai. Now those days have gone and i’m praying to the heavens above and pleading with you to enable download links to your Thai music videos and/or upload to a new account somewhere.
    I’m pretty certain i know what company cause the trouble for you on Youtube, how do i know? Well i would religiously play a video (artist’s name S***p) the only one on your account you had of him and the day before i wanted to add it to my own private collection boom it was removed 😦

    What ever you decided to do with your subbing future, know that you have made me and all my friends cry, smile and laugh.

    Karl

  9. Shaun says:

    So sorry to hear about that, it’s such a shame. I can’t believe *they* don’t see the value in what you do. By allowing Non-Thai people to understand their song meanings.. it’s only promoting Thai music as well as their own artists and products… obviously it’s their loss because they don’t see that as an advantage!!

    I would still be happy if you posted translated lyrics πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for all the energy and effort you’ve put into this. Su su!

  10. AnothaiDara says:

    Thanks for all the love and support, everyone! Don’t be mad at the big wigs because at the end of the day, it’s all about business. I’ll continue to translate songs, but I’m still trying to figure out a new medium to share them with you.

    –AD

  11. Joseph says:

    Hi AD… 3 words to sum up all – “THANKS SO MUCH”!
    And I’ve subscribed to your new YT’s channel.
    Hope to see your impeccable work again, soon =)
    Meantime, take care & all the best.

  12. lala says:

    I love your YT account. I do hope you keep going. Just think as a little bump on the road. I look forward to more of your hardwork:)

  13. Mai says:

    I appreciate all the hard work that you put forth in helping non-Thai speakers, like me, for the past four years. Your projects had taught me so much about the Thai language, and has made me come around to appreciate the Thai entertainment industry plus the language more than I expected. I am terribly sorry to hear that your channel has been removed. Nevertheless, I hope to see more of your projects in the near future. Please continue to keep us updated on how you are doing. Take care.

  14. Lis says:

    Oh my.. No wonder I was so shocked to see why my liked mv are all gone.. 😦 I seriously get so crazy over thai music because of your translation. I appreciated all the time and hard work.. I will miss all your great translations….. 😦

  15. Mya says:

    Seriously, I felt LOST when I went to your former YT account and it was closed. I was sad. πŸ˜₯ So glad to hear that you are okay and all your hard work and passion are much appreciated! πŸ˜‰

  16. Melfay says:

    im so sorry to hear that ur account is no longer “alive”…. i watch all the lakorns u subbed and also the MV’s… i learn my Thai language from your hardwork… i really appreciate what u have done. i hope u will not give up and continue to sub lakorns and MV’s….

  17. Commenter says:

    i’ve always been a silent lurker on your yt account but i truly appreciated all the time you took into subbing the music videos. your site definitely contributed to my interest in thai music and it sucks that it was closed down.

  18. Pacholo says:

    OMG!!! IM SOOO GLAD I SAW YOUR BLOG! I WAS ABOUT TO GIVE ON YT BUT I TYPED YOU IN GOOGLE AND SOMETHING CAME UP! PLEASE CONTINUE WITH ANOTHAIDARA ON YT! ITS OUR ONLY HOPE FOR GOOD THAI MUSIC THAT IS SUBBED! ANOTHAIDARA IS LIKE THE ALLKPOP.COM OF THAI POP πŸ™‚ – sorry for the caps lock, i git eggzited hahaha thanks for everything anithaidara keep up the amazing work! πŸ˜‰

  19. Harry says:

    Is there any way to make those old videos available again? My life got considerably worse when they disappeared. Why didn’t I back them up myself?! Arghh!

    I don’t think it will be too difficult to put this situation right (although YouTube is probably now out of the question). Torrents or rapidshare/megaupload are worth considering.

  20. fun says:

    All SBS, KBS and MBC videos have been removed. Now Thai companies are taking the same action. I know it is all business but at the same time, you and to all subbers have done so much, they should at least leave you a thank you note for promoting Thai music through YT. I am sad that your account has been deleted. I just subscribe to your new YT account. Maybe you should set your videos on private and provide the links here on your blog.

  21. Jeffrey Yeo says:

    will be waiting for your comeback!

  22. aikoden says:

    T_T.. you were my clash music subber lol.. aigoo it sucks that you got deleted, but im glad you’re still here <3.. thanks for all the hard work you've done so far, and still providing ^_^..

    btw, i know youtube is getting stricter, i was wondering if you knew about asianfuse.tv? that's asianfuse.net's new video site. i was just giving you a heads up in case you wanted to upload your stuff on to there ^_^.. but you don't have to listen to me hehe.. im just glad to see you still translating here and there XD

  23. mit-evo9 says:

    I thank you for the wonderful work you are doing. Im sure many many out there also appreciatte it. Kindly add me as your friend on fb & chok dii na !!!

  24. Cecilia says:

    I’m glad you’re back too .. my old ateamforum account got terminate b/c of THAT company as well.

    I like your idea of not listing it — this way, only ppl who visit here can see it and no one else can set some claims to it. I hope this strategy works out b/c you’re one of the best SONG SUBBER out there. WOULD hate to see all these goodness of you put to a stop b/c of copyright issue (I understand, they have rights but they shouldn’t do this to free subber who only there to help promote their products)

    I’m GLAD YOU’RE back on your feet. keep FIGHTING na kha!

  25. Magnoy says:

    Good to see you back. You are doing a lot for the Thai learning community.

  26. ReaderzLover says:

    Wohoo!!!! We Love You!!!! Thank you for subbing lakorns, music videos, and lyrics translation. Thank you for the effort and time you put in it for many of us. Our thanks will never be enough but it’s the only thing we can do. Thank you again. πŸ™‚

  27. kashie19 says:

    I miss your subbed videos soo much! you know what I think you are doing those Company/ Labels more of a service than damage! you SHOULD give us the name of the Label that had given you strikes! I’m not angry and will we can’t boycott their music forever but I would love to send them an e-mail about allowing their MV to be subbed for international fans, because that where I get my updates on Thai music and I do buy music in result of your subbed works. And I believe a lot more of your fans are more than willing to do so as well!! Power to the PEOPLE!!

  28. Pingback: April/May: Look Who’s Talking About Learning Thai | Women Learning Thai... and some men too ;-)

Leave a Reply

