Album Review: Palaphol – Soundtrack of Life


Artist: Palaphol
Album: Soundtrack of Life
CD Release Date: November 23, 2011
DVD/VCD Release Date: December 14, 2011

 Track List:
1 – Gaud Noi Dai Mai : กอดหน่อยได้ไหม : May I Hold You?
2 – Kon Sam-kan Pra-jam Bahn : คนสำคัญประจำบ้าน : The Special Person at Home
3 – Rak Chan Tao Tee Ter Ja Rak Dai : รักฉันเท่าที่เธอจะรักได้ : Love Me As Much As You Are Able to Love Me
4 – Tee Soot Nai Kam Wah Dee Tee Soot : ที่สุดในคำว่าดีที่สุด : The Best of the Best
5 – Glai Dtah Glai Jai : ไกลตาใกล้ใจ : Out of Sight, Close at Heart
6 – Kae Piang Neung Kam Gor Mee Koon Kah : แค่เพียงหนึ่งคำก็มีคุณค่า : Even One Word Is Meaningful
7 – Rak Mai Chai Praden : รักไม่ใช่ประเด็น : Love Isn’t the Issue
8 – Tah Poot Kong Ja Naan : ถ้าพูดคงจะนาน : It’ll Be Awhile Before I Say It
9 – Leum Nah-tee Tee Laaw Dai Mai : ลืมนาทีที่แล้วได้ไหม : Forget the Last Minute
10 – Kuan Dee Jai Reu Sia Jai : ควรดีใจหรือเสียใจ : Should I Be Happy or Heartbroken?

I have only one word to describe Palaphol’s 8th album: Bittersweet. It’s kind of two-fold in that, part of my heart breaks for him and the other part is somewhat comforted by him. Should the person who just hurt me really be dressing my wound? It feels a little weird, but at the end of it all, you’ll be glad you went through it. The album is great! (Pretty lengthy review ahead.)

I only started listening to this album a few weeks ago and even then, I listened to it passively. I didn’t really pay any mind to the lyrics and it served more as background music while I did other things. It was pleasant on the ears and I didn’t mind having it on repeat. That all ended after Kae Piang Neung Kam Gor Mee Koon Kah caught my attention one day. It hit a personal note and broke my heart. It’s about an estranged relationship in which, out of respect, one party has deliberately kept their distance from the other. Of course it’s all a big misunderstanding because he’s elated when she calls and tells him she misses him. He tells her that the reason he hasn’t called isn’t because he forgets to, but because he felt like he shouldn’t. He understands that people are busy with the their lives and does not want to infringe in any way. And so he goes on to say (to himself) that he has so many words stored up in his heart, but couldn’t dare to bring himself to say even one. And that, is where my heart crumbles. Why? Maybe because I can relate all too well to him or maybe because this is all happening over the phone. So basically in the end, they’re still geographically separated and I imagine they’ll both go back to their normal routine of him not calling her on purpose.

Kae Piang Neung Kam Gor Mee Koon Kah

The first single that was released from this album was Gaud Noi Dai Mai, which was accompanied by an eight minute music video. It’s a cute and fitting video, but not really something I could watch over and over. The song itself is pretty simple; missing someone when you’re in a long distance relationship and wanting to hold them at every opportunity you get. Meh. I wouldn’t necessarily skip it, but I wouldn’t stop what I’m doing to savior it either. It just doesn’t grab me like some of the other songs do.

The second single off the album Rak Chan Tao Tee Ter Ja Rak Dai, (which I’ve translated and subbed) is a much stronger track. Although the music video is over seven minutes long, I must confess to having watched it many times.  I probably would’ve tweaked the heroine’s character just a bit. I mean, if you’re going to support someone by going to their performance, the very least you can do is say goodbye instead of just up and leaving as though he were invisible. And then she does it again on her birthday. It was a little hard to root for her and especially for them. The guy deserves better, but I digress. I suppose if he’s still pining for her after two years, her coming back would be a happy ending for him. Anyway, moving on to the song, which actually fits the video perfectly. He couldn’t be any more understanding in telling her not to forget her ex and just love him as much as she can. This is the song I was referring to when I said he hurts and comforts me all at the same time. I’m hurt because he’s hurt, but I’m comforted by his optimism. I wish I had found someone who loved me that much, but I would only stay in the relationship if I could reciprocate the same amount of love to him. Otherwise, I’d be the girl in the video and you know how I feel about that.

Another favorite track of mine is Leum Nah-tee Tee Laaw Dai Mai, which is basically saying let bygones be bygones. People tend to make mistakes, so don’t hold grudges. Forgive and forget or get out. (That last part is my two cents.) I don’t know why, but I really feel like Kuan Dee Jai Reu Sia Jai could have really been extracted from Palaphol’s real life experience. Maybe it’s that extra strain in his voice as he sings, “I’m not sure whether I should be happy or whether I should be heartbroken” to the realization of finding out that the woman he loves, loves him very much…as a big brother. My favorite line in Rak Mai Chai Praden is “Even though I’m the last person that you remember, it’s still better than being the first person that you forget.” It’s another song about unrequited love, but at least he’s not too concerned about the unrequited part and sounds pretty happy to be friends. It’s actually a remake but I prefer his version much more.

Kuan Dee Jai Reu Sia Jai

Kon Sam-kan Pra-jam Bahn, Tee Soot Nai Kam Wah Dee Tee Soot, and Glai Dtah Glai Jai fill up the album nicely with genuinely happy tracks. It’s not all mopey and depressing as I may have made it out to be. Overall, there’s a nice balance of emotions and when you think about it, it makes for a pretty nice soundtrack to anyone’s life.

Glai Dtah Glai Jai

This entry was posted in Album Review, Palaphol and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Album Review: Palaphol – Soundtrack of Life

  1. monisouphank104 says:

    I love his songs! 🙂 But I haven’t listened to his whole album – most of the songs though
    Thank you for your review! 🙂

  2. Tarik says:

    it’s MY ! song , i’m creazy about it,
    please the translation pleaaaaaaaaase!!!
    ahhhh!

  3. Tarik says:

    GAUD NOI DAI MAI of cours

Leave a comment